HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Photography Forums > General Photography

Old Posted Apr 2, 2009, 8:59 AM
cookies, skittles & milk

General Photography Chat

I've always had questions about a certain topic in photography. But, with all these threads being about a specific subject/topic, I've never been able to ask my questions, have them answered completely or answered at all! So I decided to create a General Photography Chat thread so that people can discuss photography.

What to discuss? Just about anything...

-Tips
-Tricks
-Programs
-Favorite Photographers
-Style
-Questions
-Camera's
-Equipment
-Photo uploading sites

and anything else having to do with photography!

Last edited by Aleks; Apr 2, 2009 at 9:11 AM.

Old Posted Apr 2, 2009, 9:09 AM
cookies, skittles & milk

Okayy, so I'm not an expert in Photography but I do like it a lot. I've wondered about photography editing softwares lately. Specially about Aperture and Photoshop.

What are the differences?
Which one is "better"?
Is CS better than Aperture?
Is Aperture better than Elements?
Which one is "better" in price?

I currently use Photoshop Elements 6 which is pretty basic. I like it for most of the time. I really wish I could create a Tilt Shift on Elements though. I've seen tutorials on how to create it on CS but not Elements. But anyways, can anyone give me a basic comparison on CS vs. Aperture or Elements vs. Aperture?

Old Posted Apr 2, 2009, 9:40 AM
arf

^I can't help with the comparison, but I've done psuedo tilt-shift in Gimp which is free. There's nothing automated for it, but it's not an overly complex process either and unless you're doing large numbers of images it's not that bad.

I'm sure you could do it in Elements, but I find Elements overly clunky memory-wise. I tend to use Picassa for quick editing because it does the basic functions I need in lightning time and a memory footprint that's actually useable on my antiquated machine.