HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About
     

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Diagrams & Database > Diagrams


Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #1  
Old Posted Feb 15, 2021, 6:25 AM
La_Parca La_Parca is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 251
Administrative divisions for more contries

Since some countries in the database have his own administrative divisions (provinces,states,etc.) like Argentina, United States, Brazil and more, i want to help to incorporate states for more countries

My way to help to add states to the countries here is making a list of the provinces of the country and the cities that belong to the same

What do you think guys?
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #2  
Old Posted Feb 17, 2021, 6:52 PM
Artemco's Avatar
Artemco Artemco is offline
Ukrainian moderator
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Kiev
Posts: 4,241
most of countries already had had adminstrative division, but Dylan annoyed it. He said it overloaded database
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #3  
Old Posted Feb 24, 2021, 4:36 AM
Dylan Leblanc's Avatar
Dylan Leblanc Dylan Leblanc is offline
Website Manager
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Posts: 8,411
No more sub-national administrative regions will be added to the database. Like Artemco said there used to be more but they were removed. Only very large area countries need them, and for some countries there are likely no cities with skyscrapers in many of their regions.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #4  
Old Posted Apr 9, 2021, 3:19 AM
Martin H Unzon's Avatar
Martin H Unzon Martin H Unzon is offline
Editor/Ilustrador/Mod
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ciudad de Mexico
Posts: 2,583
To release some weight of database (to decrease the possibility of overload)... isn't a good idea to delete cities and administrative divisions without buildings? IMO is not so difficult to find "0"-buildings-cities.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #5  
Old Posted Apr 9, 2021, 1:29 PM
Quilmeño89's Avatar
Quilmeño89 Quilmeño89 is offline
Illustrator
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Quilmes
Posts: 802
That can be somewhat troublesome. In Argentina, for example, there are several cities and provinces without buildings, but that doesn't mean that they don't have them, but that they have not yet been added to the database.
Also, there are cities that say '0 buildings', but have a hidden bridge or other structure, which doesn't appear as 'building'.
For example, Troncos del Talar has two tall radio masts, but they don't appear anywhere, except when you specifically look for the diagram of that city in the Diagram Search Form.

Last edited by Quilmeño89; Apr 9, 2021 at 2:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
     
     
End
 
 
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Diagrams & Database > Diagrams
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:54 PM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.