HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForumSkyscraper Posters
     
Welcome to the SkyscraperPage Forum

Since 1999, the SkyscraperPage Forum has been one of the most active skyscraper enthusiast communities on the web. The global membership discusses development news and construction activity on projects from around the world, alongside discussions on urban design, architecture, transportation and many other topics. Welcome!

You are currently browsing as a guest. Register with the SkyscraperPage Forum and join this growing community of skyscraper enthusiasts. Registering has benefits such as fewer ads, the ability to post messages, private messaging and more.

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > United States > Texas & Southcentral > Austin

Reply

 
Thread Tools Display Modes
     
     
  #1441  
Old Posted Sep 18, 2014, 5:02 PM
Austin1971 Austin1971 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 276
I've noticed that if you build a flight itinerary for BA flying out of DFW or IAH they do not offer connecting thru AUS as an option. Wonder why that is?
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #1442  
Old Posted Sep 19, 2014, 3:37 AM
DoubleC's Avatar
DoubleC DoubleC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin1971 View Post
I've noticed that if you build a flight itinerary for BA flying out of DFW or IAH they do not offer connecting thru AUS as an option. Wonder why that is?
Well I could understand Houston; United doesn't codeshare with BA, and AA doesn't fly between Austin and Houston. As for DFW....I guess it's weird to have to fly to a smaller airport from a major hub to fly an intercontinental flight when they could easily just fly DFW-LHR or some other airport where they can transfer to a BA plane.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #1443  
Old Posted Sep 19, 2014, 6:37 PM
Austin1971 Austin1971 is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleC View Post
Well I could understand Houston; United doesn't codeshare with BA, and AA doesn't fly between Austin and Houston. As for DFW....I guess it's weird to have to fly to a smaller airport from a major hub to fly an intercontinental flight when they could easily just fly DFW-LHR or some other airport where they can transfer to a BA plane.
Seems to me another flight option would be nice to have out of DFW. Some travelers, especially premium passengers, are partial to flying BA.

I guess BA has an agreement with AA not to siphon off their DFW traffic or it could be that the Austin flight is generating profitable loads without the need for connecting passengers.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #1444  
Old Posted Sep 19, 2014, 6:58 PM
Jdawgboy's Avatar
Jdawgboy Jdawgboy is offline
Representing the ATX!!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin
Posts: 2,735
Quote:
Originally Posted by Austin1971 View Post
Seems to me another flight option would be nice to have out of DFW. Some travelers, especially premium passengers, are partial to flying BA.

I guess BA has an agreement with AA not to siphon off their DFW traffic or it could be that the Austin flight is generating profitable loads without the need for connecting passengers.
I read off of one of the airline forums (possibly Flyer talk but can't remember for sure) that some people were using ABIA opting to bypass the hubs and transfer planes here. I'll go look for where I read that.
__________________
"GOOD TIMES!!!" Jerri Blank (Strangers With Candy)
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #1445  
Old Posted Sep 20, 2014, 3:46 AM
DoubleC's Avatar
DoubleC DoubleC is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdawgboy View Post
I read off of one of the airline forums (possibly Flyer talk but can't remember for sure) that some people were using ABIA opting to bypass the hubs and transfer planes here. I'll go look for where I read that.
How would they do that? The only US airline codeshare with BA is American, and all the AA flights from Austin are from hubs (meaning they would be siphoning traffic). I suppose they could buy a SWA ticket to Austin (and BA ticket to LHR), arrive at Austin, leave the secure area, then recheck in for the BA flight. Anyone ever try that?

On a side note, I recall once that there was that "nerd bird" service by Austin between Austin and San Jose (and also to Seattle?), and I don't believe SJC was ever an AA hub. AA stopped that service, then Alaska tried and they dropped it until Southwest started the route.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #1446  
Old Posted Sep 20, 2014, 7:21 AM
Jdawgboy's Avatar
Jdawgboy Jdawgboy is offline
Representing the ATX!!!
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Austin
Posts: 2,735
It's likely an exception to the rule but here's two post's from Flyertalk. There are a couple of others mixed in if your up for searching for them. I also saw some other posts on another thread I can't think of off hand at the moment.

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/briti...-788-a-21.html

Quote:
raikje

Location: GLA

Tried this out AUS-LHR in CW last week. Some observations:

- Check-in opened sharp at 3.5hrs before departure. I was connecting in on a separate AA flight via DFW and they refused to check my bag through, so I was waiting a few minutes for them to open up.

chiil1974

Location: Chicago

Hello, does anyone have experience connecting from the BA flight in AUS to an AA flight? Taking a trip towards the end of July and my client booked me on the return flight connecting from BA to AA in AUS. I have 1h 5m in between flights and am wondering if this is enough time to clear Customs & Immigration and then re-clear security. I do have Global Entry but last time I checked they don't have kiosks in AUS. My client's travel agent assured me that she spoke to both BA and AA and they both advised that the connection time was more than enough. Any first hand accounts would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.
I also stumbled across this article about St. Louis trying to get a BA route. Here's the link:

http://myfinlife.com/category/technology/

Two intersting pieces from the article.
Quote:
In an email, a British Airways spokeswoman said only that the carrier regularly reviewed its network to “look for growth opportunities.” Beyond the Austin service, the airline has no “news to share” about U.S. markets.

By comparison, Austin had about 300 people a day destined for “various points” within Europe, Hamm-Niebruegge said. But the reason it was chosen was because the San Antonio market, which is a 45-minute drive, had another 75 people a day, she added.
The piece above is according to the St. Louis Airport spokesperson. I'm not sure where they came to that conclusion from but I doubt that we were chosen just because of that. There's other factors such as SXSW, F1 and other events that likely played a major role in the deciding factor.
__________________
"GOOD TIMES!!!" Jerri Blank (Strangers With Candy)

Last edited by Jdawgboy; Sep 20, 2014 at 7:32 AM.
Reply With Quote
     
     
  #1447  
Old Posted Sep 20, 2014, 2:07 PM
Mikey711MN's Avatar
Mikey711MN Mikey711MN is offline
I am so smart, S-M-R-T!
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Moved south to Austin, TX
Posts: 530
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoubleC View Post
On a side note, I recall once that there was that "nerd bird" service by Austin between Austin and San Jose (and also to Seattle?), and I don't believe SJC was ever an AA hub. AA stopped that service, then Alaska tried and they dropped it until Southwest started the route.
Good summary on the "Nerd Bird"!

As a matter of fact, AA did operate a small hub at SJC, which included both trans-Pacific (to NRT, which has since returned by ANA) and trans-Atlantic services, at the height of AA Nerd Bird operations.

FYI, here's a good snapshot of AA's service: http://www.departedflights.com/AA070201p86.html.

As the hub was wound down, the Nerd Bird became a casualty. I would think that AA will tend to focus on LAX services for western coverage in the future, so my sense is that the route is WN's to control.
Reply With Quote
     
     
End
   
Reply

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Regional Sections > United States > Texas & Southcentral > Austin
Forum Jump


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15 AM.

     

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.