HomeDiagramsDatabaseMapsForum About

Go Back   SkyscraperPage Forum > Discussion Forums > Transportation

Old Posted Dec 3, 2015, 3:51 PM

Why are so many metro transit agency websites so awful/ugly?

I'm obsessed with rail transit maps and was just looking at some of the websites of the largest agencies in the U.S. including Chicago's CTA, New York's MTA, and Atlanta's MARTA and they all have one thing in common—horribly designed and ugly websites. LA, Boston, and San Francisco are only marginally better looking. London is about the best example I can find of a well designed transit site. As a designer, I would honestly consider doing pro bono work for our local (NYC) transit site just so that it's not so embarrassing. What are your favorite examples of either ugly or beautiful transit agency websites?

Old Posted Dec 3, 2015, 5:05 PM

Yeah, just looking at the NYC mta website now, it looks like a cheap online shopping site where I'd probably get a virus from clicking on anything. Paris has a pretty ugly one as well. I really like montreal's (http://www.stm.info/en) website.

Old Posted Dec 3, 2015, 5:14 PM
Show me the blueprints