View Single Post
Old Posted Sep 17, 2006, 4:52 AM
nazrey's Avatar
nazrey nazrey is offline
Registered User
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 603
Klang Valley: Kuala Lumpur Metropolitan


( 2006 Est.)
Internet Users,
Latest Data
Source : InternetWorldStats

Malaysia is a federation of 13 states in Southeast Asia,
The country consists of two geographical regions divided by the South China Sea:

Peninsular Malaysia (or West Malaysia) on the Malay Peninsula shares a land border on the north with Thailand and is connected by the Johor-Singapore Causeway and the Malaysia-Singapore Second Link to the south with Singapore. It consists of nine sultanates (Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Selangor and Terengganu), two states headed by governors (Malacca and Penang), and two federal territories (Putrajaya and Kuala Lumpur).
Malaysian Borneo (or East Malaysia) occupies the northern part of the island of Borneo, bordering Indonesia and surrounding the Sultanate of Brunei. It consists of the states of Sabah and Sarawak and the federal territory of Labuan island.

Klang Valley

Klang Valley is an area in Malaysia comprising Kuala Lumpur and its suburbs and adjoining cities in the state of Selangor. An alternative reference to this would be Kuala Lumpur Metropolitan Area or Greater Kuala Lumpur, though neither of these terms is used locally. It is geographically delineated by Titiwangsa Mountains to the north and east and the Strait of Malacca to the west. The conurbation has a total population of over 4 million as of 2004, and is the heartland of Malaysia's industry and commerce. In the most recent census, the population in the Klang Valley has expanded to 5.2 million, and in 2006, the population in this area is estimated to be 6.5 million.

The valley is named after Klang River, the principal river that flows through it, which is closely linked to the early development of the area as a cluster of tin mining towns in the late 19th century. Development of the region took place largely in the East-West direction (between Gombak and Port Klang) but the urban areas surrounding Kuala Lumpur have since grown south towards the border with Negeri Sembilan and north towards Rawang. Strictly speaking, the southern and northern areas are not geographically part of the river valley, so the term Klang Valley is always used to describe urban areas surrounding Kuala Lumpur rather than a strict geographical feature.


• Federal Territory of Kuala Lumpur
• Federal Territory of Putrajaya
• Selangor district of Petaling
- Shah Alam
- Petaling Jaya
- Subang Jaya
• Selangor district of Klang
- Klang
• Selangor district of Gombak
- Selayang
• Selangor district of Hulu Langat
- Ampang Jaya
- Kajang
• Selangor district of Sepang
- Sepang

Highway and Kuala Lumpur
A highway and tollbooth leads to the city of Kuala Lumpur.
Image: © Louie Psihoyos/CORBIS

Last edited by nazrey; Feb 27, 2017 at 9:31 AM.
Reply With Quote